Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Where are our minds
Where are our minds
Menu
New York ( part 2 )

New York ( part 2 )

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hi everybody ! I hope you are enjoying your Christmas holidays, and today I am going to finish the "New York" topic, with a second part. I already spoke about New Yorkers and the best views I had of NY, so today I am going to speak about some activities I was lucky to do, and my best memory of New York.

1) An NBA match in New York 

I am not a huge fan of Basket, neither are my parents, but we were very curious to dive into a real american athmosphere, because you may know that American Basket games are very special in USA, they are such a show ! So, we went to the Madison Square Garden, the biggest basket arena of New York. The New York Knicks were against the Detroit Pistons : it was an important match, therefore the arena was totally full of people and supporters. USA understood how to make people want to go to basket games : food was free, I ate two hotdogs, a popcorn and drink for free during the game (GLAMOUR BONUS : I threw up during the night, I did a food burnout). Moreover, all the music, the famous Cheerleaders, and the games added to the basket match made it become a big show ! Everybody was yelling, the music was loud and all the visual effects were very impressive...The match perfectly represents New York : everything is bigger, everything is strong and everything seems beautiful and perfect, to make you want to come back. What an experience ! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2) Mamma Mia in Broadway 

As you probably understood, I went to the "Mamma Mia" musical, in Broadway.  I was very exciting because it was very symbolic for me to see this show in NY. I often watch the movie since I am a child, so it was a beautiful moment when I saw the real musical, in New York. Despite what people may think, the theater is really small, therefore we are very close to the scene. All the actors act, sing and dance perfectly. The funny, romantic and moving musical doesn't age at all ! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3) My best memory of New York : Time Square by night

I did amazing activities during my travel, and I feel very fortunate of that because it is a chance to travel to NY. However the thing that makes me want to come back is a simple thing, an immaterial thing : the atmosphere of New York. Because this city is really alive, everything there surprise you. 

My best memory of New York is when I went to Time Square, by night. I my memory  my parents and I went there everyday because our hotel was not far, but we went to Time Square by night just two times, and it was incredible. I knew I was going to enjoy this nightout, so I put headphones and listened to music to be in a bubble and appreciate the moment. I don't really know how to describe the feelings I had. I didn't do anything, except looked at people moving, looked at all the big screens around and above me. The colours changed , danced around me, everything was alive, and I really felt like being in the center of the world. To be honest it was like I took drugs, because every sound, every eye movement made me feel incredibly amazed. Although the place was very lively, vibrant, I was relaxed, very calm, I was glad to be there, to have the chance to be there. And I hope you will have this chance too.


   

 

 

 

 

 

 Thank you readers, I would like talk about food, museums, and other things about New York but it woud require a third article ! I just hope now you want to visit The Big Apple ;)

Savannah