Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Where are our minds
Where are our minds
Menu
New York

New York

New York

 

Two years ago, I went to New York with my parents for five days, and I can tell it really was the best travel of my life, and one of my best memories. Predictable ? Maybe. However I am going to explain my version of why is New York so incredible. I did a list of the things that amazed me the most during my travel. Let's dream a little ! I have to split this Topic in two parts, two articles because I have a lot to say about the city.

Before I start I just want to stress a negative point of the city, the biggest one. I often heard that New York doesn't truely represent the USA, and that's a fact. USA are unfortunately full of inequalities whereas New York isn't. If you go to the suburbs around the city, you will see all the poverty New York doesn't reflect. This city is like an other country, and that fascinates me.

1) New Yorkers

You probably know that : a big part of the US nation is based on immigration, and New York is such a cosmopolitan city ! The ethnically diverse community is impressive ! What is more impressive is that everybody gets along well. 170 languages are spoken in New York. Wow. I was shocked about New York's diversity ! There you can hear english like spanish, chinese, portuguese, italian or even french. That is the reason why I had the impression of being in a totally different country, a cosmopolitan country based on differences between citizens but not equalities, which is amazing. 

In addition, what I liked in New York is that even if you're seen like "different", you're not judged. In a country supposed full of racism, I saw so many gay or interracial couples show their love proudly, and I never see that in France. I was so happy to be in a place where no matter your look, your sexuality, your physical appearence, you are accepted. Nobody cares about you and nobody has to hide

Finally, I was suprised by the kindness of New Yorkers. In France, when you smile to someone in the street, he looks at you as if you're very weird. In New York, when we asked our way to someone, he proposed to guide us, repeating "take care". 

2) The most beautiful views of New York 

When I think about "The Big Apple", the first things that come to my mind are all the beautiful and differents views I had in New York. I didn't imagine an over-polluted city could be so nice to see. So here are the views I'll never forget :

First, of all, when our plane arrived to New York, by night. In general, I am someone who really enjoys to see cities by night. So, you know it is such a magic feeling, when you just spent eight hours on your seat in front of a screen and the first view you have of NY is a multitude of lights brighting in the night. At this moment, I started to dream, and I realized my travel was going to be unforgettable. Secondly, I liked to admire the city from our hotel, every night. We are right to say that NY is "The city that never sleeps" because even during the night there are so many things to see and listen to. 

An other place I remind is Central Park. I really loved to contemplate all the buildings from there, because the landscape seems so unreal ! Central Park is like an oasis of peace in town, and be relaxed in a kind of natural place while you are seeing all the skyscrapers around you is so unusual ! There are not a lot of places with that contrast.

 

The only place where I really realized how big is New York was on the top of the Empire State Building. At first sight we could feel opressed by all these buildings, but the feeling of being in the center of the world takes control of your mind. 

That's all for today's article, but I am not done with New York, don't worry ! In two weeks, I will write about my activities there, the culture of the city and my favorite place in NY !