Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Where are our minds
Where are our minds
Menu
The Kombimania

The Kombimania

The Kombimania

For as long as I can remember, I've always been fascinated by Volkswagen Kombi vans.

When I was a child, I often watched "Scooby -Doo" on the TV, and my dream was to have their "Mystery Machine" ! So now I think my « kombi obssession » comes from this.

To be honest, I'm a big fan of the 50s, 60s and 70s, and I remember when i was younger, I discovered many old movies and video clips...Not only I fell in love with all these old musics, but also with these vw kombi vans I saw in music videos !

Invented in 1950, the Kombi isn't just a car, a transporter, it 's an entire symbol ! The symbol of flower-power hippy years ( I am sure you 've already seen 60s or 70s photographs showing happy hippies driving this kind of vans !) It became a symbol of peace, freedom, communities...

And you know that symbols never die. Just this summer, I saw about ten kombis going to the beach or somewhere else. It is amazing to see that people aren't just about new technologies, sometimes old simple things are the best ! Maybe the vw kombi is not the fastest, or the easier to repair… But for me it will always be the best car ever. A car where you can live during the day, with wich you can do road trips with your family, and enjoy a vintage dream !

It's always been my dream, so I hope one day I'll make my dream come true !

Savannah

PS : Here are three songs that remind me road trips in Kombi :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W4ga_M5Zdn4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aPEhQugz-Ew

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N-aK6JnyFmk

The Kombimania